# ALBERNI VALLEY CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

## 2013 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

## WEDNESDAY, MAY 8, 2013

## CHANCES RIMROCK GAMING CENTRE

## **MEETING MINUTES**

**CALL TO ORDER:** President Neil Malbon called the meeting to order at 12:25pm.

### PRESIDENT'S REPORT:

- President Malbon highlighted the chamber's accomplishments over the past year and thanked staff and volunteers for their contribution.
- President Malbon explained the agenda and introduced himself and dignitaries in attendance.
- MOTION: PETER/JAN THAT THE PRESIDENT'S REPORT BE ACCEPTED. CARRIED
- MOTION: JAN/MARK TO APPOINT THE ACCOUNTING FIRM OF DUNCAN SABINE COLLYER PARTNERS FOR THE ENGAGEMENT REVIEW YEAR ENDING 2012. CARRIED

### **REVIEW ENGAGEMENT REPORT:**

- ACCOUNTANT BARBARA PRICE, from **DUNCAN SABINE COLLYER PARTNERS**, presented the chamber's ENGAGEMENT REVIEW for 2012.
- MOTION: JAN/CHAR TO ACCEPT THE ACCOUNTANT'S REPORT. CARRIED
- MOTION: JAN/MARK TO APPOINT DUNCAN SABINE COLLYER PARTNERS AS ACCOUNTANTS FOR 2013. CARRIED

**MINUTES:** The minutes of the 2011 AGM were not voted on at the AGM for 2012. The minutes for 2012 were not included at this AGM. Both packages to be included for AGM 2014 and voted on at that time.

### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS:**

- Peter Wienold thanked outgoing directors Linda Bowers, Will Pulford, Gary Spencer-Smith, Bob Cole & Laurie Smillie for their service to the Chamber of Commerce.
- Peter Wienold also thanked outgoing President Neil Malbon for his service to the Chamber of Commerce.
- Peter Wienold asked Cindy Solda ACRD Representative to run the elections

- EXECUTIVE ELECTION: The following were acclaimed to the respective positions:
  - President: Teresa Bird (AV News)
  - 1st VP: Peter Wienold (The Graphics Factory)
  - 2<sup>nd</sup> VP: Jan Lavertu (Home Hardware)
  - Treasurer: Cherie Williams (Scotiabank)
  - Secretary: Kim Heeks (Jiffy Lube)
- 1 YEAR DIRECTORS POSITIONS: The following were acclaimed to 1 year directors positions:
  - Mark Aussem (Alberni Technologies)
  - Kris Patterson (AV Times)
- 2 YEAR DIRECTORS POSITIONS: The following were acclaimed to 2 year directors positions:
  - Jonathan Cross (Hospitality Inn)
  - Gord Groves (Quality Foods)
  - Kevin Wright (Steampunk Café)
  - o Les Toth (Card Corner and Collectibles)
  - Bob Kanngeisser (Independent)

•

Counsellor Hira Chopra conducted the swearing in ceremony

#### MOTION: MARK TO ADJOURN